The Bledisloe Medal was established in 1930 by the late Viscount Bledisloe, former Governor-General of New Zealand. It is awarded to a former Lincoln student or a past or current Lincoln staff member who has made an outstanding contribution to his or her chosen field of expertise, advanced New Zealand's interests, and/or brought credit to Lincoln University.  

Nomination Form

Complete an online nomination form here

Please do not attach any other supporting materials, including Curriculum Vitae, as these will not be considered.

Nominations for 2024 are due by 31 August 2023

Award Nomination Criteria

Nominees are assessed on:

  • Career achievements
  • The economic, scientific, cultural or technological value of their work
  • The connection between their work and Lincoln's interests
  • The extent to which their achievements reflect on, or have the potential to reflect on, the University's reputation
  • The extent to which their achievements have advanced New Zealand's interests.

Past recipients

2022 - Michael Barker

Michael Barker has made an outstanding contribution to the fields of business, marketing, manufacturing, and horticulture in New Zealand and internationally.  As a proud Lincoln alumnus, he has brought credit to the university through his successes, hard work, and contribution to the local economy. 

Read Michael's full citation

2021 - Jeff Grant

Jeff Grant has had a long and successful career in the land-based industries in New Zealand. The Lincoln University Diploma in Agriculture graduate farms sheep, beef and deer at Balfour in Southland, and has extensive agribusiness and rural sector leadership experience. 

Read Jeff's full citation

2020 - Leoni Freeman

Leonie Freeman has held numerous private and public leadership roles in the New Zealand property sector and has wide experience across many property disciplines. 

Read Leonie's full citation

More Past recipients